Midnight Cupcakes: Almond Joy!!

Chocolate. Coconut. Almonds.

Now that’s a threesome you’ll never regret.

Yes.

So. With this late-night adventure I endeavored to do a few new things:

1. Try out the 2-cupcake recipe on How Sweet It Is.

2. Make a light & fluffy chocolate frosting.

3. Create an Almond Joy Cupcake.

Here’s how it went.

1. For the 2-cupcake recipe, I substituted coconut extract for half of the recipe’s vanilla allocation. Looking back, I think I could have added more-perhaps another 1/2 tsp. But you could definitely smell the coconut when the cupcakes came out of the oven, and I put a dash in the frosting and a piece of toasted coconut on top, so I don’t think it was lacking too much. Explorations for next time :) On another note, I had a small problem with the cupcake recipe–it didn’t fully cook until about 17 minutes had passed, as opposed to the noted 10-12.  This may have been due to the humidity or egg consistency, etc. so I’ll see what happens next time. The cake was light and fluffy, however, so the recipe looks promising.

2. This is probably the most free-form frosting recipe I’ve ever done, so I will apologize in advance for not having a more definite recipe.

From memory, I’m going to say the chocolate frosting was about…

1/4 cup softened butter

1/2 cup shortening

2 tbsp sifted cocoa powder

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

a dash of coconut extract

2 tbsp heavy cream

Everything made its way into the bowl in stages (in the above order), aided by a hand mixer.

I went by taste and fluff-factor (that really should be a legit phrase)–the heavy cream really was the key, and transformed the frosting from a traditional, rich frosting to a very cloud-like one. Make sure not to overmix though!

3. As for the Almond-Joy-ness, I did not have almond extract on hand–I wanted to use that in the frosting. However, I think the melted chocolate (1/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 tbsp heavy cream heated in the microwave, cooled a bit, and poured over the cupcakes which sat in the freezer for a few minute prior) and the one almond imitated the original nicely. Overall, a very light cupcake–not too filling or imposing, a cloud of Almond Joy goodness on the tongue.

4 thoughts on “Midnight Cupcakes: Almond Joy!!

Leave a Reply

