Funfetti Cupcakes and Homemade Stained Glass Candy

First order of business: Cupcakes and Showtunes has over 100 Facebook followers! Yay!! You should share the page because, you know, cupcakes and showtunes are cool things.

Second order of business: This will probably be the last non-vegan item on the blog for a while. I really want to start experimenting with alternative baking, so definitely be looking out for those!! No worries for the non-vegans though, I have absolutely no intention of sacrificing taste ;)

Alright, so funfetti.

Sometimes in exchange for favors, I provide baked goods. It’s a thing. And when a friend of mine wanted cupcakes in exchange for coloring my hair, I decided to jazz up some funfetti.

So I came up with an idea. A really good one, if I say so myself. Homemade candy stained glass. Kinda like those old stained glass window cookies, but minus the rustic little cookie part. Super classy. How often do you see sunlight streaming through cupcakes? These are special.

IMG_6508

I used the funfetti recipe on How Sweet It Is for the cake, and topped it with a vanilla swiss meringue buttercream (see my previous 2 posts for that recipe). I know I’ve used the SMB for my past couple of cupcakes, but I just couldn’t rationalize doing anything but a really creamy vanilla on top of funfetti, especially with all of the stained glass and sprinkles going on.

Goodness gracious I’m obsessed with sprinkles. I’d say it’s a problem, but I’m so obsessed that I don’t even see it as a problem. Oh well.

IMG_6489

Isn’t it PERTY??? AGH. So much beautiful.

Also, I just realized I have absolutely nothing sweet or chocolatey in my room and this is a serious problem. Girl needs her 70% dark chocolate fix. Need to put that on the baking to do list. (P.S. I’m still dreaming of avocado brownies AGH)

IMG_6518

Still waiting for the sprinkles on top? Yes you are. Hold on a sec. I’ll give you the recipes.

Homemade Stained Glass Candy

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheet with Silpat or parchment paper.

Unwrap Jolly Ranchers or other hard candy and separate by color into ziplock bags. Close bags and smash with flat kitchen hammer or rolling pin. Remove bits and arrange on baking sheet.

Bake for 5-8 minutes until fully melted. Remove and let cool to room temperature, then peel off of Silpat and snap into pieces.

Here’s a picture of the candy before going into the oven!!

IMG_6506

They look like gems, they’re just so gorgeous.

IMG_6527

And here’s the cupcake recipe! Watch these little ones carefully, as they can go from unbaked to overbaked fairly quickly.

Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes

makes 12 cupcakes

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 whole eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup assorted brightly colored sprinkles + more for top of frosting

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add half of the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Add the milk. Once mixed, add remaining dry ingredients. Fold in assorted sprinkles.

Pour into cupcake tins and fill 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Let cool, then frost.

And, all assembled, here they are! They’re show-stoppers, seriously.

IMG_6531

Oh, and on another note, I’m back at Cornell!!! Yay!!! I can’t believe this is my last semester, and I missed everyone so much, and everything is going to be SO MUCH FUN. I’m currently rehearsing a play, so my time is taken up by Jewish history and the prospect of playing about 10 characters. It’s perfect.

IMG_6538

Taste the rainbow.

IMG_6509

Oh, and I hope you all had a wonderful New Year!!!! :)

3 thoughts on “Funfetti Cupcakes and Homemade Stained Glass Candy

  1. I tried making this and after about an hour the candy started to run it looked like it was dripping :( do you know what I may have done wrong?

    • oh no!! do you mean the candy started to run into the frosting? did you allow the candy to come to room temperature before using, and did you use jolly ranchers? some candies might have lower melting points, and i have only used jolly ranchers. also, do you live in a warmer climate? i live in new england, so it’s much drier and cooler here than in other areas, which might affect the candy. some of the extra cupcakes i did were sitting for a couple of days and didn’t have any running. sorry about that and i hope it works better next time!

Leave a Reply

