Vegan Mexican Triple Chocolate Cupcakes

Remember that time when I thought I was being super clever and used a soba noodle instead of a toothpick to test my cupcakes and then it broke off in the cupcake and it turned into a noodle worm thing inside my cupcake? Oops.

This is real life, folks.

I’m at this point in my life when I’m starting to do adult-ish things, but also have that awkward clumsiness of a 15-year-old girl. This is actually recent. Is it normal to get clumsy when you turn 21? Don’t answer that.

Anyway, I’ve paid my college bills, I’ve started paying for my own phone, and I buy my own groceries, clothes, etc. I’m applying for jobs and apprenticeships. I even have a good self-image! I almost like wine. I’m getting there.

However, I’m also obsessed with kittens and puppies, use at least 5 different dialects/accents per day to express my thoughts, delight in my giant tickle-me-Elmo, and have this undying desire to play with nerf guns. AND, I just spent a stressful week unloading every weird and awkward thing I’ve ever said on the rest of my cast at rehearsal. It’s uncomfortable for everyone involved, I’m sure. But such is life.

So, when your own quirkiness seems like too much sometimes, reign it in and spice it up.

These, my friends, are vegan mexican (triple) chocolate cupcakes.

IMG_6609

Wa-BAM.

I’m obsessed with mexican food. Ask anyone in my family. Spices, beans, rice, avocados, tortillas, peppers, tomatos, I LOVE IT. And I’ve really only grazed the surface of the mexican food world.

So, make some cupcakes inspired but that amazing cuisine? I’m down. Are you down? Good.

Let’s start with some moist vegan chocolate cupcakes, studded with dark chocolate chips. Awesome.

IMG_6581

Now, let’s make a vegan chocolate buttercream, spiced with cinnamon and cayenne. Hot.

(But not too hot)

IMG_6619

Now, let’s top it with some hand-colored cayenne sprinkles. Didn’t see that coming did you?

IMG_6590

So vegan, so good.

Vegan Double Chocolate Cupcakes
Adapted from Pastry Affair
Makes 12 cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3 heaping tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil (or vegetable oil)
1/2 cup strong brewed coffee
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (or water)
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (dairy-free)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cupcake pan with baking cups.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Add the vanilla extract, vinegar, oil, and water. Mix the batter until smooth.

Divide batter evenly between 12 baking cups (about 3/4 full). Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from baking pan and allow to cool to room temperature.

So there are 2 chocolates. Here comes number 3!!

I haven’t created many frosting recipes myself (look! i’m even growing up as a foodie!!), so this is a big day for me, because it came out absolutely PERFECT.

Make this make this make this.

Vegan Mexican Chocolate Buttercream

1 cup original earth balance
3 tbsp high-quality cocoa powder
2-3 cups vegan powdered sugar
2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
1 oz dark chocolate, melted and cooled
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
2 dashes cayenne pepper (or to taste)

Cream earth balance and add 1 tbsp cocoa powder and 1 cup powdered sugar. Beat using hand mixer (or stand mixer) for 30 seconds on medium. Add 1 tbsp almond milk. Beat until combined. Add 2 tbsp cocoa powder and 1 cup powdered sugar, then almond milk. Beat. Mix in melted chocolate and vanilla. If needed, add more powdered sugar and beat until combined and fluffy. Add cinnamon and cayenne pepper. Frost cupcakes.

Red-Hot Sprinkles

1 tbsp white sprinkles
Red food coloring
Cayenne Pepper

In a very small bowl, place sprinkles and one drop red food coloring. Swirl until coated. Repeat (in single drop increments) until sprinkles are a bright red color, but not wet. Add a small dash of cayenne pepper, or more to taste. Cool in fridge, swirling occasionally to ensure the sprinkles don’t stick together. Sprinkle on cupcakes.

…and now, I’m going to go get artsy with some crazy cast-mates.

IMG_6621

Add some spice to your Friday :)

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Mexican Triple Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: cinco de mayo recipe round-up « daisy's world

Leave a Reply

