Homemade Mocha Sandwich Cookies

Sometimes everything comes together in life. Hours and hours and hours of tech rehearsals and dress rehearsals, school, work, being a lady. You know. All at once. And you just have to have 5 sandwich cookies.

IMG_6725

Not that I know how that feels.

IMG_6713

So you make some oreos. Homemade ones. With coffee shortbread and a dark, dark chocolate filling.

IMG_6720

Then you make some iced coffee and have them while watching My Best Friend’s Wedding.

And life is just…better.

IMG_6730

You know?

You totally know.

IMG_6717

Vegan Coffee Shortbread
Adapted from Food 52

1 cup earth balance
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons Fresh coarsely ground coffee
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a mixer, cream the butter with the sugars and 2 TBLS. of the ground coffee.  Scrape down the mixture from the sides of the mixing bowl.
  2. Mix together the flour and salt, and add to the creamed butter and sugars in 4 parts. Scrape the bowl each time before you add more flour.
  3. Gather up the dough and pat into a disk. Place on a floured surface, flour your rolling pin, and roll out dough to no less than 1/4″ thick. Use a small round cookie cutter and with a thin spatula place the cookie rounds on an ungreased flat baking sheet.
  4. Gather the dough, roll out again, and repeat Step 3.
  5. Place cookie sheets in the oven. Bake 7-10 minutes. Cool.

Dark Chocolate Filling

1/2 cup Earth Balance
1/4 cup high-quality cocoa powder
1/4-1/2 cup vegan powdered sugar
dash salt

  1. Combine ingredients with hand mixer. Adjust cocoa to powdered sugar ratio according to taste, desired bitterness, and thickness. Filling should hold stiff peaks.

IMG_6737

Also, one more update.

6 months ago I decided to be a vegetarian…and now, after many hours spent in contemplation, I have decided that I am going back to being an omnivore.
I know I have a lot of vegetarian, vegan, and omnivorous readers on here so I’m going to try to be completely clear without taking up too much web space.
I have been a vegetarian/almost-vegan for about half a year, and have decided after these six months that being a lifelong vegetarian is not for me. I was very healthy and creative in my approach to how I ate, but as many do, I have decided that my body and mind require more of a balance.
So why did I become a vegetarian?
1. factory farming
2. inhumane treatment and killing
3. growth hormones and other chemicals
I’ve never really been opposed to the consumption of animal products–while it might seem problematic for some, for me it’s really just a part of nature’s food chain. I wouldn’t have this debate with a hard core vegan, because I know the arguments would get messy and nobody would change their opinion. It’s like discussing religion in that way. However, with human capacities for morality and compassion, I do have a problem when the animals concerned live hellish lives and experience cruel deaths. So, in order to balance my general love of food, need for more reliable nutrition, and so forth, I am going to attempt to make the transition back into being omnivorous, but this time a far more conscientious one. I have a feeling I’ll probably eat primarily fish as my meat source, with the occasional chicken, beef, or pork product thrown in. As for dairy and egg products, the same theory applies–my goal is to find humane sources for these products. In reality, I went dairy-free because my milk intolerance had a flair-up after I ate all of the gelato in Italy. Oops. But I forsee this going away with the gradual reintroduction of it into my diet (so as not to shock the sytem). Especially when I have easier access to these humane, organic food sources, I hope to find a balance between my body’s needs and my moral life. It is a plan that just feels good to me.
All of this being said, I really do love vegan and vegetarian cooking and it will absolutely continue to make up the majority of this blog. I mean, I make cupcakes and sweet treats–I’m already meat-free by default. So, thank you all for going on this journey with me. It’s amazing being a part of this community.
Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day tomorrow ;)
10 thoughts on “Homemade Mocha Sandwich Cookies

  1. Pingback: Suddenly Seymour! | Fat Kid Chronicle

Leave a Reply

