Going Swiss for St.Patrick’s Day: Thin Mint Cupcakes ♣

Saturday is Saint Patrick’s Day!!!

Naturally, cupcakes are a must for any holiday.

However, given that most St.Patrick’s Day cupcakes are made with some form of alcohol (Guinness, Bailey’s, whiskey, etc.), this proved to be a dilemma for little-miss-underage over here.

Just 60 days to go. 60.

Anyway.

I decided to use the green color palette as my inspiration (okay, I was getting desperate here),

and while debating what I should create, a girl scout happened to set up across the way.

Just guess what happened next.

I bought a box of Thin Mints and resolved to make some mint-chocolate cupcakes.

I wanted to try something new, though.

The answer: Swiss Meringue Buttercream.

Okay. Not Irish. Don’t worry about it.

Inspired by BakersRoyale’s Peppermint Mocha Cupcake,

I found a friend with a mixer and went to town. The recipe was intimidating, but a success!

I used Martha Stewart’s buttercream recipe, substituting 1 tsp of vanilla for 1.25(ish) tsp of peppermint extract.

I also nestled a thin mint at the bottom of each dark chocolate cupcake (from a box, college-style. sorry guys.)

So, what was the verdict?

Well, people seemed to really enjoy them–lots of compliments and thanks were had. In regards to the Swiss Buttercream…I, personally, am not a huge fan of the super-buttery taste, and therefore prefer other less buttery-tasting concoctions. However, it was beautifully light and airy–the texture was gorgeous and very enjoyable to watch in the mixer. And the people who received them enjoyed themselves, and that’s really all that matters, right?

One year later: I have fallen IN LOVE with Swiss Meringue Buttercream. Make it make it make it make it. Yup. Also, refer to my semi-recent post that goes into more depth on the matter :)

I love to try new things. And this was really quite an adventure.

Leave a Reply

