The Best Pancakes I’ve Ever Eaten

Most days, my breakfast consists of coffee and oatmeal.

However, because it’s Spring Break, I decided to do something special.

Apple Spiced Cottage Cheese Pancakes

This is real, people.

And if you don’t like cottage cheese, don’t worry. You can’t really tell it’s there (except for all the delicious).

I used Smitten Kitchen’s Cottage Cheese Pancake recipe, with a couple modifications:

1. I used a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of apple pie spice instead of 1/2 tsp cinnamon.

2. I used olive oil instead of melted butter.

I’m not going to lie, I used the apple pie spice because I was too lazy to go to the pantry to get cinnamon.

I also didn’t really feel like melting butter.

Good life choices.

And between the apple pie spice and the vanilla, the pancakes smelled SO GOOD.

Seriously caps lock worthy.

So fluffy, flavorful, and moist.

Then, I of course used maple syrup from my family’s cabane à sucre in Canada.

Try this. So worth the extra 10-15 minutes of your time.

Oh, and one final note on pancakes. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen people pat down their pancakes while they’re cooking. NEVER do this. You’ll lose all the volume and fluffiness of your pancakes. Just leave them alone. The air bubbles will tell you when they’re ready to flip. Give your babies a little room to grow :)

Leave a Reply

