Spiced Banana Almond Muffins: Queen Elizabeth Edition

Warning.

This recipe may change your life.

Muffins. No eggs. No milk. Just healthy noms.

For the past week I’ve been trying to figure out how I could make muffins without having to go buy eggs.

Then, I came across Kitchen Grrls’ recipe.

It’s super easy and quick.

I gave it a few tweeks and tossed it in the oven.

Well, I didn’t actually toss it.

That would have been messy.

Anyway.

Here are my beautiful little babies.

All dressed up.

And delicious.

I must admit, when I peeled away the paper my first thought was, these muffins look like those women who used to wear the big, ruffled collars around Shakespeare’s time.

Doesn’t that collar look like a cupcake liner?

But alas, I have absolutely no desire to eat Queen Elizabeth I with a cup of coffee.

These muffins, however, are moist and flavorful and quite light. I highly recommend you try one.

Healthy and Vegan.

:)

Spiced Banana Almond Muffins

Makes 6 Muffins

  • 3/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 Large Bananas mashed
  • 3 tbsp applesauce
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp raw organic cane sugar
  • 2 tbsp almonds (for topping)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Sift flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and baking powder in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  2. Mix mashed banana, applesauce, oil, and vanilla in a small bowl. Fold in sugar and mix well until sugar completely dissolves.
  3. Add liquids to flour mixture and mix until fully combined. Do not overmix.
  4. Spoon mixture into lined muffin tray, top with almonds and bake for 16-20 mins.
One thought on “Spiced Banana Almond Muffins: Queen Elizabeth Edition

Leave a Reply

