Chickpea and Spinach Veggie Burger

Since being home, I have had an intense craving for a veggie burgers. At school, I could get them at almost any time if I desired, a convenience I surely did not appreciate as much as I should have. After expressing my craving several times to my sister, she suggested that I make them myself. The task seemed rather daunting, but upon looking at the list of dubious ingredients packed into commercial veggie burgers, I decided against buying them.

Today, enjoying the gloriously beautiful weather, my sister and I did a 5k jog. When we got back, it was lunchtime and we were ready to tackle the veggie burger challenge ahead of us.

I cannot believe I waited so long when such an amazing burger was just waiting to be made.

I mean, this was my lunch. Seriously.

Being a newbee to the workings of veggie burgers, I pulled up Naturally Ella’s Chickpea Spinach Veggie Burger recipe and made a half-batch, yielding one burger each for my sister and I. I accidentally added all of a very large egg, so I had to add a few more chickpeas and some more breadcrumbs (we used panko), but they turned out just fine! I cooked them in a pan very much like pancakes (these would not have worked well on the grill), and about 10 minutes later, they were on our flatbreads looking even prettier than any commercial veggie burger.

I will not being going back to store-bought anytime soon.

Trust me, these are so simple and so worth it.

Chickpea and Spinach Burgers
Author: Erin Alderson
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (drained, if using canned)
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1 cup spinach, packed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 tablespoons sunflower seeds
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs
  • pinch salt
Instructions
  1. Combine chickpeas and onion in a food processor, pulse a few times to break up the chickpeas. Add in spinach, oil, soy sauce, oregano, paprika, and sunflower seeds, pulse a few more times.
  2. Add in egg, salt, flour, and bread crumbs, pulsing until mixture comes together and is well blended. Remove from food processor, run your hands under water, and shape patties.
  3. If pan frying, cook over medium heat for roughly 6-8 minutes on each side. The outside should be browned and crispy

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

