Mudslide Cupcakes

For some reason, Bailey’s Irish Cream has been on my mind lately. I couldn’t stop thinking about Bailey’s on ice. It just seemed so smooth and beautiful in my mind. However, I only appreciate alcoholic beverages when I can avoid that sharp burn in my throat.

The solution?

Make a mudslide cupcake.

Kahlúa, Bailey’s, Vanilla.

Some of my favorite aromas, in a cupcake. So, I adapted Sweet Road‘s single serving cupcake recipe (which actually makes 2 regular-sized cupcakes), threw together a mudslide buttercream, and let the magic happen.

This is not for the kids, ladies and gentlemen.

I had half of one of these and felt warm and fuzzy inside.

All of the flavor, none of the burn.

It’s the beginning of an entirely new world of boozy concoctions, I’m sure.

For the following recipe, I wanted just a hint of Kahlúa. If you want more, switch out another tablespoon of almond milk for Kahlúa. I’ve also seen recipes that keep the vodka, but I decided I’d leave it out. I’ve always thought vodka smells like hand sanitizer–probably not so great for cupcakes.

Kahlúa Cupcakes

Adapted from Sweet Road: makes 2 cupcakes

1 tbsp butter, softened
2 tbsp sugar
3 tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp almond milk
1/4 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp Kahlúa

1. Combine the butter and sugar until well incorporated
2. Add 2 tbsp of the almond milk (make sure the milk is at room temp or warmed up to prevent clumping and separation in the butter)
3. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt, then add to the butter mixture
4. Add the remaining milk, vanilla, and Kahlúa and mix until incorporated
5. Bake at 350-375º F for 15-20 minutes

Mudslide Buttercream

For the Mudslide Buttercream, replace your favorite buttercream’s liquid component with Bailey’s and Kahlúa. Depending on your taste and how strong you would like it, you can use some milk as well and can change up the ratios of Bailey’s to Kahlúa. My recipe used mostly Bailey’s, as it is creamier and I prefer the taste in its raw form. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

