Oreo Cupcakes and a Sweet Surprise

I want to be completely upfront with you.

I’ve made Oreo cupcakes before.

But these are different.

They are not cookies and cream cupcakes.

They are not Oreo-bottomed cupcakes.

These are cupcakes meant to reflect the construction and flavor of the heavenly Oreo cookie.

Chocolate cupcake. Oreo (filling) filling. Chocolate buttercream. An Oreo on top.

This is for the serious Oreo lover.

I had to make these lightning-speed because the weather ruined our s’mores plans and I only had a couple hours before work. I used the Cupcakes Take the Cake chocolate cupcake recipe–they were very brownie-like in texture, which worked perfectly, as it was more dense and had some crispness on top, echoing the Oreo cracker itself. I whipped up a double batch of Smitten Kitchen‘s Oreo filling recipe (it tastes just like the real thing!!) and filled my 12 cupcakes. I had a bunch of extra filling, so I threw in a stick of butter, some cocoa powder, a touch of cream, some more powdered sugar, and piped the buttercream on top of the cupcakes using a large round tip, placing a whole Oreo as a garnish on each cupcake.

So much fun.

Oh, and midway through all of this, my sister told me to make some extra frosting for my mother, who was intending on making her friend a small cake. As it turns out, I was actually making the buttercream for my own birthday cake, served at my surprise 21st birthday party. I have ALWAYS wanted a surprise party. It was a complete dream come true. And my sister did such a good job with this cake–I showed her a picture from Pinterest months ago, and she made it for me! I have such wonderful family and friends. Thank you so much to everyone!!!

2 thoughts on “Oreo Cupcakes and a Sweet Surprise

  1. I like the “stacked” look of these cupcakes!

    Also, I’ve seen that cake on Pinterest before, too — lucky you, a surprise party with an awesome cake! Happy birthday! :)

Leave a Reply

