Nutty Coconut Granola

Okay. Here it goes.

Granola.

I went to the store for a cantaloupe and came back with bread, apples, and organic vanilla yogurt. After finding this yogurt, slightly sweetened with maple syrup, I searched for a good granola but everything was either too expensive or packed with sugar. There is no way I’m paying $5 for a couple cups of over-sweet granola. No sir. So, I made some of my own.

Lightly sweet, crunchy granola without breaking the bank? Yes please.

I modified Katheats’ Coconut Almond Granola recipe.

It’s so beautiful, and everything is better homemade isn’t it?

I swapped the canola oil for coconut oil as a healthier oil alternative and also to compliment the shredded coconut flavor. I put in molasses instead of brown sugar to get more of the nutrients in molasses–as far as sugars go, maple syrup and molasses are relatively more nutrient-dense. You could really put any nuts you like in this–I think I may put in some flax seeds next time! I’ve also heard of substituting the oil with egg whites for protein and a lower fat content. Any way you make it, this granola tastes good and feels good.

Nutty Coconut Granola

Adapted from Kath Eats Real Food

  • 2 cups organic old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tbsp – 1 tbsp molasses (depending on desired sweetness)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 300*. Heat honey in frying pan until thin. Add other coatings. Mix well. Add coconut, almonds and oats and stir to coat well. Spread onto a well greased with cooking spray non-stick cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Stir mixture. Bake for another 5 minutes. Stir again. Bake 2-7 minutes more, until mixture is golden brown.

Makes about 4.5 cups. Each 1/4 cup is about 100 calories.

One thought on “Nutty Coconut Granola

  1. I’ve never made my own granola before, but you’ve sure made it look easy! I’m going to have to try this when my big 2kg sack of store-bought stuff runs out. :)

    Also, good luck with your transition! I’ve been feeling the same way about my blog (since I’m out of that period of my life when I was constantly angry and baking to let off steam), but worried about making a change… there’s lots of technical stuff to worry about, among other things!

Leave a Reply

