Double Chocolate Chip Teddy Graham Cake

I make lots of cupcakes. I also love to make cakes, but it takes a little more precision (aka time) so I don’t do it quite so often. And even though my family groans at all the dirty dishes I make, it’s so rewarding and fun that I can’t resist. So when I hear that one of my friends is having a birthday and I’m not working, you can bet that a cake is in order.

I have a little confession to make, though.

This started out as a chocolate chip cookie cake.

When my sister and I went to the store for ingredients, we were looking for mini chocolate chip cookies to garnish the cake. And then we found chocolate chip Teddy Grahams, and we really didn’t have a choice in the matter. You can’t not put Teddy Grahams on a birthday cake when they fit so perfectly into the flavor profile.

Teddy Grahams=Smiles.

It’s just that simple.

Then later when I tried to make the (eggless) cookie dough for the filling (recipe here), the butter melted the chocolate chips and they disappeared into the dough. Let me tell you, it was quite a shock when I discovered that my chocolate chip cookie dough didn’t have any chocolate chips in it. So I waited a bit until it was cool enough for me to fold in some more chocolate chips, and then I chilled the dough in a springform pan.

Thus it became a double chocolate chip teddy graham cake.

Following this turn of events, I did a ganache pour on the cake. It was my first time doing a ganache pour and it turned out really well! I was beyond excited, truly. Trying these things is always so exciting, but also nerve-wracking. It was a great success though! I’ll definitely be doing it again in the future.

So as a review, this little guy had 2 layers of classic yellow cake, double chocolate chip cookie dough filling, a ganache glaze, and a Teddy Graham garnish.

The above pictures aren’t really clear, but I don’t have my own mini light lab yet, so I have to make due with what I have when I photograph at night. I’m also saving for a fancy shmancy camera, so please follow and/or share my blog with your friends so maybe one day the blog can help pay for itself! Or you can just like the facebook page :)

Anywho, here’s the cake!!

Leave a Reply

