Cacao Scented Yeast Bread

FOOD

I really felt like making bread this week. I also really wanted to use the cacao powder that was sitting on our island.

Sooo…I made this bread. I didn’t have chocolate chips, so I wouldn’t exactly say that it’s chocolate bread, because when you taste it, it doesn’t taste like chocolate. It tastes like regular bread with a faint cocoa scent. It goes really well with almond butter, peanut butter, butter, and would probably be really delicious with Nutella or as the base of a Fluffernutter. Or, if you wanted to make some fancy french toast with a strawberry sauce, chopped strawberries, fresh whipped cream, and a dash of powdered sugar, that would be beautiful. Perhaps a bread pudding? The possibilities are really endless.

The awesome thing about this bread is that it’s pretty good for you. Cacao powder has lots of health benefits, and there isn’t too much sugar in the recipe. Technically the recipe is supposed to be two loaves, which would make it better for you (as the slices would be smaller), but I just really love the look of a large loaf like this. I also adapted the recipe for a stand mixer. Whatever your preference, be creative with how you use this bread, because it’s really a unique loaf.

Cacao Yeast Bread (Adapted from Taste of Home’s Chocolate Yeast Bread recipe)

  • 4-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cacao powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 package (1/4 ounce) active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 egg

  • In a large mixer bowl, combine 1-1/4 cups flour, cocoa, sugar, yeast, salt and baking soda. In a saucepan, heat the water, milk, and butter; stir until butter is melted. Cool to 120°-130°. Add to dry ingredients; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes with paddle attachment. Add 1/2 cup flour and egg; beat on high for 2 minutes. Stir in enough remaining flour to form a stiff dough.
  • Knead until smooth and elastic using a dough hook, about 6 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.
  • Punch dough down. Turn onto a lightly floured surface; divide in half. Shape into loaves. Place in two greased 8-in. x 4-in. loaf pans. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes to 1 hour.
  • Bake at 375° for 25-30 minutes or until browned. Remove from pans to cool on wire racks.

:)

UPDATES

I just finished the first part of my application to graduate. I will be graduating with a degree in Theatre Arts and a degree in Sociology. The fact that I’m a senior is getting so real right now–scary and yet so thrilling and joyful!

I finished applying for early arrival to my London abode, so hopefully that goes well! There are a ton of events for international students and I really would rather be all moved in by the time they all begin. Being in a hostel would be quite inconvenient, but I’m not worried about getting the early arrival approved. Tickets start going on sale tomorrow for events, so I’ll be on top of that!

We’re moving my sister into her new room in Boston this weekend, so the whole family is gearing up for that in the next couple of days!

And lastly, my sister, a friend, and I all went to Old Orchard Beach this weekend to see the sunrise. It was truly one of the most beautiful things that I have ever experienced. I really hope that everyone gets to have moments like this. I felt completely removed from reality for a little while…nothing existed except the rising sun, the waves, and all of the beautiful colors. Here are a couple pictures from the morning:

Have a wonderful Friday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

