Vegan Brownie Cookies and Grand Marnier Glaze

I LOVE VALENTINE’S DAY.

I can practically hear you all groaning. But do you want to know a secret?

…I’m single.

And yes, I FREAKING LOVE VALENTINE’S DAY.

IMG_6681

I have this odd thing where I delight in other people being in love. Not that I don’t want it for myself too, but I am perfectly content to watch love happen, in a multitude of ways. Holding hands. Roses. Long hugs. Engagement rings. Dancing when there’s no music. Call me weird. I don’t care.

IMG_6693

I recently got into a play by my favorite playwright ever (SARAH RUHL UMDUH) and one of my character’s lines is, “Do you ever have the feeling, when you wake up in the morning, that you’re in love but you don’t know with what?” And you know what’s weird? I feel that almost every day. I feel like I’m so full of love I could burst. That’s why I’m almost always happy. I have to hold myself back from hugging people. I don’t know where it came from but I swear I have valentines instead of organs.

So…cookies. They’re rustic and cute. If you’re trying to be super fancy, don’t make these. Make a souffle or something. These are for those with laughter in their hearts :)

 Also, don’t feed these to the kids, unless you trade out the booze for some orange juice. And be careful of the flax, in case of nut allergies :)
This vegan brownie cookie recipe comes from That’s So Vegan, and they are super rich and fudgy.
IMG_6652
I found it helpful and beneficial to refrigerate the cookies after they are rolled into balls, but it’s not a requirement–the cookies will just be a bit puffier.

Chocolate Lovers Brownie Cookies 
(loosely adapted from Vegan Cookies Invade your Cookie Jar)

makes 2 dozen cookies

1/3 cup non-dairy milk
2 tbsp ground flax seeds
1/2 cup canola oil
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat your oven to 350º and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
2. In a large bowl, mix together the milk, flax seeds, canola oil, sugars and vanilla until smooth. Sift in the remaining ingredients (not including chocolate chips) and stir until a dough forms. Fold in the chips.
3. Roll the dough into about 1 1/2″ balls and place them on the cookies sheets, at least 2″ apart in case of spreading. Bake for about 10 minutes- they will still feel soft and gooey to touch, but trust me, they firm up as they cool.

Grand Marnier Glaze
2 cups vegan powdered sugar
3 tablespoons Grand Marnier
Mix until combined. Add more powdered sugar or liqueur to achieve desired consistency.
Garnish with chocolate hearts and hot pink sugar. To make the chocolate hearts, melt 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and place in a ziplock bag. Cut a very small hole and pipe onto parchment and place in the fridge. Once cool, careful peel and place on frosted cookie.
IMG_6688
15 thoughts on “Vegan Brownie Cookies and Grand Marnier Glaze

  1. I tried making these to soothe a midnight craving…I didn’t expect them to be the best cookies I’ve ever had! We made batch after batch for the entire next week, these are my new go-to recipe. In the words of my little sister, “If cookies could be sexy”. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

