Blackberry White Chocolate Mascarpone Tart

Bonjour kiddos.

It’s been CRAZY long since I’ve posted. 2 weeks is about a decade in blogger-ville, right?

Yeah. Whelp. I’ve been focusing on rehearsals and auditions and fruits and veggies and reading plays and so much.

But I’m back and I’m bringing spring with me. Even if I have to drag it here.

With berries and cream and lightness.

IMG_6908

And, you know, just a touch of booze.

I went to the New England Theatre Conference this weekend, and although I wasn’t interested in the theaters that called me back (not the right location, benefits, etc.), and I have some reservations about how the auditions are run, I do have my first professional audition under my belt and that feels AMAZING. I’m also applying to a bunch of stage management internships because I really enjoy that as well. And I will be off to New York City by the end of the year :)

SO MUCH EXCITEMENT.

Okay let’s get some berries up in here.

IMG_6874

I knew I wanted to make a tart this week, and I went through about 12 different ideas before arriving at this little beauty. It kind of came to be as a cross between berries and cream, a s’more, a cheesecake, and tiramisu. It’s whimsical and pretty, which is just perfect for the first days of spring. It’s pretty quick and easy to throw together too.

IMG_6883

And, it’s fairly low in refined sugar–the only sugar is the little bit in the cream and the sugar in the white chocolate. I’m going to go ahead and call that healthy.

IMG_6852

Invest in a tart pan with a removable bottom. It will save your life slash inspire you. I promise.

IMG_6896

Graham Cracker Crust

8-10 whole graham crackers
6 tbsp melted butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In food processor, grind graham crackers to fine crumb, then slowly add melted butter until crumbs hold shape when pressed. Pour crumbs into tart pan, and press against sides and bottom with back of a measuring cup. Bake for 10 minutes, until light golden brown. Cool completely on cooling rack.

White Chocolate Ganache (with blackberries)

11oz high-quality white chocolate chips
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla
12 oz fresh blackberries (optional)

Place white chocolate in a heat-proof bowl. Heat heavy cream in sauce pan until just before boiling. Pour cream over chocolate. Let sit 5 minutes. Stir together. If necessary, heat chocolate in bowl over saucepan with simmering water for 5-10 minutes, to melt fully. Let ganache cool for 15-20 minutes. Pour into cooled crust. Arrange blackberries in ganache and cool tart in fridge for at least one hour.

Chambord Mascarpone Cream

8oz mascarpone cheese
8oz heavy cream
1/3 cup Chambord (or, to taste)
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Place mascarpone in chilled bowl. Using hand mixer, beat for a few seconds on low-medium speed, then stream in heavy cream, continuing to beat. Increase speed and beat until mixture starts to thicken, then add powdered sugar. Beat until incorporated, then add Chambord and vanilla. Continue to whip until cream is soft, fluffy, and has stiff peaks. Spread or pipe onto tart.

IMG_6867

If you’d like to have a little raspberry drizzle, I just microwaved some frozen raspberries until they broke down and pressed them through a strainer. You can sweeten it, but I like the contrast of sweet and creamy and tart in this.

IMG_6899

You can also serve the cream on the side if you’d like–the berries are really stunning. But both ways are beautiful in their own way. With the cream, you’re surprised by the burst of color you get when you cut the tart and drizzle the raspberry.

This also stores really well in the fridge. It’s been sitting overnight and is still beautiful. So make this ahead for a potluck show stopper.

IMG_6911

My genius mind at work. Clearly super sophisticated transportation here.

IMG_6869

Happy Spring!!

:)

4 thoughts on “Blackberry White Chocolate Mascarpone Tart

  1. Oh my! The presentation of this tart put the biggest smile on my face! Love the layout and would love to try this recipe. I love that you are cupcakes & showtunes as I am cupcakes & pin-ups! Great blog!

Leave a comment